Real Estate

Seminar Center

Region

   Cities

   Climate

   Leisure & Recreation

   Life Style

   Telecommunication

   Crown Land
About Us

My Visions

Links



German Version
The Region

Omineca or "North by Northwest", was once the home of a vast fur trading empire. North by Northwest is a truly exceptional place. In this land of majestic fjords and snowcapped mountain ranges, you can be in absolute wilderness at one moment and enjoy an elegant dinner in the center of town just an hour later.

Explore the silent, primordial rainforests on the Queen Charlotte Islands or experience adventure along the Stewart-Cassiar Highway, gateway to Alaska and the Yukon.

The Lakes District stretching from Ootsa Lake in the south to Babine Lake in the north (100 km or 62 mile radius), is situated between the Fraser and Skeena River watersheds. There are over 300 lakes providing good fishing for some of the largest rainbow trout and char in the province as well as excellent canoeing, kayaking and hiking. Access to Tweedsmuir Provincial Park is from Burns Lake and Smithers (floatplane) or Ootsa Lake (boat), as there is no road access. Visitors must enter the park on foot, by water, or air.

The wilderness of Tweedsmuir Park is very attractive for some, while others prefer rockhunting for opals and agate found in the Eagle Creek Deposits

Tweedsmuir Provincial Park is one of the largest in B.C., encompassing more than 981,000 hectares in the west-central part of the province. The Ootsa-Whitesail Lakes Reservoir is to the north and northwest, the Coast Mountains to the west and southwest and to the east is the Interior Plateau. The Dean River is the natural dividing line between the north and south regions of the park.

Mountain goats, mule deer, moose, bear and wolves are resident in the forest of lodgepole pine, white spruce and Engelmann fir. The park's lakes and rivers are home to fish such as mountain whitefish, rainbow trout, kokanee and burbot. Boating, angling, camping, hiking, hunting and horseback riding are just some of the features that bring visitors to the park.

Water access from the Ootsa-Whitesail Lake Reservoir is the most popular method of entry to the park. Boat launches are accessible by roads from the communities of Vanderhoof, Burns Lake and Houston. Charter float planes are available from Smithers and Burns Lake.

Even though this is a remote area, you can reach "civilization" pretty fast, and also the next airport for your travels.

To the east, Tweedsmuir Park borders the nature reserve Kitlope. It encompasses the largest intact rainforest with a coastal climate in the world, with trees more than 800 years old.

So, this region offers something for everyone - and whoever has been here will know how lucky one can be to live here!

  Return

Email: Phone/Fax: 1-250-694-3417 [Germany (+49) 5403-9606]

Immobilien

Seminar-Center

Die Region

   Orte

   Klima

   Freizeit & Erholung

   Lebensstil

   Telekommunikation

   Crown Land
Üeberuns

Mein Vision

Links



English
Die Region,

Omineca oder auch "North by Northwest" (Nord/Nordwest-Teil von B. C.) genannt, beheimatete einst ein weit ausgedehntes Reich des Pelzhandels und ist auch heute noch eine wirklich außergewöhnliche Gegend. In diesem Land majestätischer Fjorde und schneebedeckter Bergketten kann man ebenso die absolute Wildnis erleben wie schon eine Stunde später ein elegantes Essen in der Stadt genießen.

Hier können Sie außerdem die ursprünglichen Regenwälder der Queen Charlotte Inseln (auch Galapagos Inseln des Nordens genannt) entdecken oder eine Abenteuerfahrt auf dem Stewart-Cassiar Highway - dem Tor nach Alaska und dem Yukon - machen.

The Lakes District (Seengebiet) liegt zwischen den Wasserscheiden des Fraser Rivers im Osten und des Skeena Rivers im Westen sowie zwischen dem Babine Lake im Norden und dem 100 km südlich davon angrenzenden Ootsa Lake. Über 300 Seen bieten ausgezeichnetes Angeln auf die kapitalsten Regenbogen- und Seeforellen der Provinz und ebenso exzellente Möglichkeiten zum Wandern sowie Kanu- und Kayakfahren. Zugang zum Tweedsmuir Provincial Park ist von Burns Lake und Smithers (mit dem Wasserflugzeug) oder vom Ootsa Lake mit dem Boot möglich. Weil es dort keine Straßen gibt, kann man nur zu Fuß, übers Wasser oder per Flugzeug hineinkommen.

Die Wildnis des Tweedsmuir Park ist für einige sehr attraktiv, während andere lieber nach Opalen und Achaten in den "Eagle Creek Deposits" suchen.

Der Tweedsmuir Provincial Park im zentralen Westen ist mit 981.000 ha der grösste Provincial Park. Im Norden und Nordwesten grenzt das Ootsa-Whitesail Lakes Reservoir an, im Westen die Coast Mountains und im Südwesten sowie im Osten das Interior Plateau. Der Dean River bildet die natürliche Grenze zwischen dem nördlichen und südlichen Teil des Parks.

Bergziege, mule deer (Damwildart), Riesenelch, Bär und Wolf sind hier einheimisch in den Wäldern von lodgepole pine (Kiefernart), white spruce (Fichtenart) und Engelmann fir. (Tannenart). In den Seen und Flüssen des Parks sind Berg-Weissfische, Regenbogenforelle (bis 12 Pfund), Kokanee (Lachs) und Aalraupe/Quappe zu Hause.

Boot fahren, Angeln, Campen, Wandern, Jagen und Reiten sind nur einige der Angebote, die Menschen in den Park ziehen. Der beliebteste Zugang zum Park ist per Boot vom Ootsa Lake. Mehrere Stellen, an denen Boote zu Wasser gelassen werden können, sind über Forststraßen von Vanderhoof, Burns Lake und Houston erreichbar. Wasserflugzeuge kann man in Burns Lake und Smithers chartern.

Auch, wenn das Gebiet zum Teil abgelegen ist, bleibt die "Zivilisation" doch schnell erreichbar, und mit ihr auch die nächsten, größeren Flughäfen für die An- und Abreise.

Östlich an den Tweedsmuir-Park grenzt das Naturschutzgebiet Kitlope an. Es umfasst den größten intakten Regenwald der Welt mit Küstenklima und über 800 Jahre alten Bäumen.

So bietet die Region für jeden etwas - und wer sie kennt, weiß, daß es schon ein besonderes Glück ist, hier leben zu dürfen!

  Startseite

Email: Telefon/Fax: 1-250-694-3417 [Deutschland (+49) 5403-9606]